? EUT--Services--product
International Certific

    Machinery Directive 
    Low Voltage Directive 

Home    Services  >  

About EMC
Ensuring electrical equipment is safe and does not interfere with the

normal operation of other equipment is the basis for Electromagnetic

Compatibility (EMC) regulation. The most common forms of EMC are

know as electromagnetic emissions and electromagnetic immunity.

Around the world, many countries have set regulations and laws that

govern the use of EMC. For example, in Europe the Electromagnetic

Compatibility Directive 2004/108/EC sets the requirements for the

control of immunity and emissions. In the United States, the FCC

governs the requirements for the control of immunity and emissions.

Electromagnetic Emissions
Electromagnetic Emissions relate to radio frequency waves that are

emitted from an electronic device during normal operation. These

electromagnetic waves can interfere with the normal operation of

other electronic equipment. Each product has specific frequency ranges

allowed to transmit these emissions within. The frequency ranges have

been determined by the type of product and by the regulatory authorities

of countries across the world, such as the FCC and European Norms.
Electromagnetic Immunity
Electromagnetic Immunity refers to a product's ability to withstand a

specified level of external electromagnetic interference. With the

proliferation of electronic devices, there are an increasing number of

standards covering a range of product immunity issues including

Electrostatic Discharge (ESD), Radiated Electromagnetic Field

Immunity, Electrical Transient/Burst Immunity, Surge Immunity, and

Immunity to Conducted Disturbances

EMC services are also offered for the following requirements:
North America:

United States Federal Communications Commission (FCC)

American National Standards Institute/Institute of Electrical and Electronic

Engineers (ANSI/IEEE)

Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Military Standards (MIL-STD)

National Security Agency (NSA)

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) / National Voluntary

Laboratory Accreditation Program (NVLAP)

RTCA, Inc.

Scientific Apparatus Makers Association (SAMA)

Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)

Bluetooth (SIG)


European Norms (EN)

Association of German Electrical Engineers (VDE)

International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)

Special Committee on Radio Interference (CISPR)

British Standards Institute (BSI)

German Standards Institute (DIN)

German Federal Approvals Office for Telecommunications (BZT)

Russia (GOST)

UK Ministry of Defense (Def-Stan 59-41)

Other Country specific Requirements

Asia/South Pacific:

Japanese Voluntary Control Council for Interference (VCCI)

Korean Ministry of Information and Communications (MIC)

Australian Telecommunications Standards (AUSTEL)

Taiwan: Chinese Taipei Bureau of Standards, Metrology and

Inspection (BSMI) - formerly BCIQ (Bureau of Commodity Inspection

and Quarantine)

Taiwan: Director General of Telecommunications (DGT)

China: Compulsory Product Certification (CCC Mark)

International EMC Mark

The International EMC Mark program incorporates the EMC

requirements of Europe, US, Japan, and Australia, providing an

identifiable mark to show your product complies with the diverse

requirements of the global marketplace. As electromagnetic compatibility

becomes increasingly scrutinized, the International EMC Mark provides

significant differentiation, simplicity and more speedy time-to-market

through combined testing, and customer confidence assurance by

proudly displaying the International EMC Mark.